trouble with wind and xml

Virtual Skipper 5 offer the possibility to import own boat 3D models.<br>
3D artists and players can now meet here to share models and advices.<br>
Virtual Skipper 5 offre la possibilité d'importer vos propres modèles 3D de bateaux.<br>
Les artistes 3D et les joueurs peuvent maintenant se réunir ici pour partager leurs modèles et conseils.
Locked
User avatar
Ômr_etc
Capitaine
Posts: 254
Joined: 24 Oct 2006, 12:30
Contact:

trouble with wind and xml

Post by Ômr_etc »

we are trying to develop a boat just for fun.
everything looks right BUT we are facing a bug(?)
suddenly wind drops from whatever to 0.2 or 0.3 knot for a few seconds for some players but not for all, and then wind goes normal as the bug appears for one or more other players, and so on....
the more players the more the bug appears.
it seems to be related to the xml file , as when compiling our boat 3DS file with the sampleboat boatparam.xml nothing happens, but when compiling the sampleboat.3DS with our boat boatparam.xml makes the the bug come back.....
did anyone encounter this before, and if yes, where was the trouble in the xml ?? :?: :?:
User avatar
admiral
Amiral
Posts: 338
Joined: 27 Oct 2003, 08:43
Location: Nederland

Post by admiral »

with the sampleboat boatparam.xml
it doesn't happen...

There must be a difference betwwen your params and the sampleboat params?

You're in the best position to compare them.
I can't see how the bodies can change the wind.

You might start at the windshadow section?

I haven't heard of any similar problem.
User avatar
Ômr_etc
Capitaine
Posts: 254
Joined: 24 Oct 2006, 12:30
Contact:

Post by Ômr_etc »

admiral wrote: There must be a difference betwwen your params and the sampleboat params?
there are many many differences :)
if somebody had known it could have save my time ! ;)
back to work :(
maitai
Amiral
Posts: 354
Joined: 04 May 2006, 10:35
Contact:

Post by maitai »

I agree with Admiral that you should try to replace piece-by-piece each section of the 2 boatparams. First windshadows (i.e. just replace your windshadow section by the sampleboat's one), and if it still does it the mainsail section, etc. Then little by little you should be able to tell what is doing that. Long and painful, but no other way I am afraid.

Although it probably comes from the windshadow section. Maybe you are somehow caught in your own shadow?
User avatar
Ômr_etc
Capitaine
Posts: 254
Joined: 24 Oct 2006, 12:30
Contact:

Post by Ômr_etc »

:D :D :D :D :D
i've sent the windshadows to hell and all seems to work fine !!
lot of thanks

maitai you have an internet connection on your island ?
maitai
Amiral
Posts: 354
Joined: 04 May 2006, 10:35
Contact:

Post by maitai »

Ômr_etc wrote:maitai you have an internet connection on your island ?
Not very fast (20ko max), and not very stable (have to wait for tws <5), but still I can get through from time to time. :D
Locked